Home » asian food » Hot Soba Noodle Soup

Hot Soba Noodle Soup

20130130_192628

I love noodles. It might be slightly blasphemous to say this as a Korean, but I prefer a good noodle dish over rice. Maybe it’s the texture, or the fact that they’re slurp-able? Who knows. But I love my noodles. Especially quick and easy noodles.

The hubs is a management consultant and travels out of town weekly (Monday through Thursday) for work. His current project has him flying out to Houston, TX. A lot of people ask me “isn’t it hard? how do you handle it?”. On one hand, it sucks. Monday morning good-byes are never fun, although 3 years of doing a long distance relationship between Chicago and Boston gave us a lot of practice. Despite the suckiness of it at times, one positive aspect is that I can prepare quick almost thoughtless meals without feeling guilty. If he were around every weekday, I would feel some pressure to rush home and make a decent meal for him! I guess I have this “traditional” wife role in my head, but I just can’t help it since it feels like a practical way to love on and serve my husband… but this is why his work travels let me be a little bit lazy during weekdays :)

This hot soba noodle soup recipe is perfect for those lazy days but the taste is still good enough to make it a decent meal. I made this last night for dinner, and I think I will be including this in my rotation to feed the hubs too!

Quick Soba Noodle Soup
From Rasa Malaysia with a few tweaks

Ingredients:
1 bundle of soba noodles
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons Bonito Flavored Soup Base*
6 shelled and deveined shrimp
1/2 cup carrots, sliced
3 shiitake mushrooms, sliced

Toppings
Togarashi
Scallions, chopped

Adjustments from original recipe: I added more shrimp because I’m a huge shrimp lover, I added more carrots since I wanted to incorporate more veggies, I omitted seaweed strips since I didn’t have any on hand, I chopped up some scallions and sprinkled on top for added color and taste.

*This soup base can be purchased at any Asian grocery store. I found it at Assi Plaza, a Korean grocery store. This is the key ingredient that makes this so quick and easy to prepare.

Method:

Heat up a pot of water and bring it to boil. Cook the soba noodles; leave them slightly undercooked so the hot broth doesn’t overcook them later on. Drain and set aside in a bowl.

20130130_191952

Heat up 1 1/2 cups of water and bring it to boil. Add the Bonito Flavored Soup Base and the rest of the ingredients. Boil for about 1 minute or until the shrimp are cooked.

20130130_192205

Ladle the soup onto the noodle, and top with togarashi and chopped scallions. 20130130_192622

What are some foods you like to cook on those lazy days? :)

One thought on “Hot Soba Noodle Soup

  1. Pingback: Soba Noodle Soup « pure provender

Leave a Reply

